Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Sethna Concludes Term as Chair of Atlanta Regional Council for Higher Education

University of West Georgia President Beheruz N. Sethna recently concluded his term as chair of the Atlanta Regional Council for Higher Education. For the coming year, he will still serve on the executive committee as the immediate past chair.

“All of us in higher education in the Atlanta region are grateful for Beheruz Sethna’s active and committed leadership as ARCHE’s chair during the past two years,” said Michael A. Gerber, ARCHE president.

The council's board of trustees has elected Georgia State University President Mark P. Becker to assume Sethna's former position.

Becker takes the helm of the organization as it embarks on a new initiative: Bringing together the Atlanta region’s colleges and universities to collaborate on sustainability projects on the campuses and in communities. Among the ARCHE members are worldwide leaders in green campus practices, integrating sustainability into the curriculum, and conducting research that can improve the environment and quality of life for people across the planet.

"This is an important time to serve as chair of ARCHE,” Becker said. “I look forward to working with colleagues to see that ARCHE'S evolution continues to track the needs and opportunities for higher education in metro Atlanta."

Spelman College President Beverly Daniel Tatum will serve as the board’s vice chair, and Kennesaw State University President Daniel S. Papp will serve as treasurer. University of West Georgia President Beheruz N. Sethna, ARCHE’s chair for the past two years, remains on the executive committee as immediate past chair. Continuing as members-at-large of the executive committee are Elizabeth Kiss, president of Agnes Scott College, and William D. Underwood, president of Mercer University. Paula S. Wallace, president of the Savannah College of Art and Design, joins the executive committee as newly elected member-at-large.

"We look forward to Mark Becker’s tenure in that position as we implement new initiatives around sustainability and continue ARCHE’s work to raise awareness of the critical role that colleges and universities play in our state’s future,” said Michael A. Gerber, ARCHE president.

Ed L. Schrader, president of Brenau University, will continue to chair ARCHE’s government relations committee. John E. Maupin Jr., president of Morehouse School of Medicine, and Thomas J. Hynes Jr., president of Clayton State University, serve as members of that committee.

2011-12 ARCHE Leadership

Executive Committee

Chair Mark P. Becker

Vice Chair Beverly Daniel Tatum

Treasurer Daniel S. Papp

Past Chair Beheruz N. Sethna

Member-at-Large Elizabeth Kiss

Member-at-Large William D. Underwood

Member-at-Large Paula S. Wallace

Government Relations Committee

Chair Ed L. Schrader

Member John E. Maupin Jr.

Member Thomas J. Hynes Jr.

The Atlanta region is a national leader in higher education with more than 250,000 college and university students enrolled annually and more than $1 billion in research spending each year. ARCHE brings together the region’s public and private colleges and universities to help them share strengths through cooperative programs and to build awareness of the scope, impact and value of higher ed in the region. Information about ARCHE, its board and its members is available at

No comments:

Post a Comment