Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Multicultural Achievement Program to Hold Awards Ceremony at UWG

The Multicultural Achievement Program at the University of West Georgia will hold the 28th Annual Academic Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, March 28 at 7 p.m. in the Campus Center Ballroom. 
The ceremony will recognize
313 minority and multicultural students from UWG and 16 area high school students for their academic achievements. MAP will award the ACE Awards to the UWG junior and senior with the highest GPA, the Academic Achievement Awards to students with a 3.25 or higher and the Academic Excellence Awards to juniors and seniors with a 3.75 or higher.
This year, the Helena Harbridge International Student-Athlete Award will be presented, recognizing the international student-athlete with the best combination of athletic performance, classroom achievement, team work, team spirit, and community involvement.
            The speaker for the evening is Kim Holder, a UWG alumna and a Richards College of Business lecturer of economics. Holder strives to teach more than just textbook economics.  She has always looked at the world a little differently from the status quo and is passionate about passing on that unique perspective to her students.  She actively uses music, media and pop culture to inspire student creativity, with the hopes of inspiring each of them toward a greater love of learning.  Her research work focuses on the integration of popular media into the classroom to enhance student engagement.

Area High School Students Being Honored

Bowdon High School                                                            Bremen High School
Lyric Maze                                                                        Jamie Dukes
Arisha Johnson                                                            Dipesh Patel

Carrollton High School                                                Central High School
Kelcy Newton                                                                        Justis Ward
Miguel Lazaro                                                                        Orlando Cler

Haralson County High School                                     Oak Mountain Academy
Mahogany Harris                                                            Suhani Patel
Jeleen Ross                                                                        Yinan Zhang

Temple High School                                                            Mt. Zion High School
Cinnamon Williams                                                            Justin Crawford
Adriauna Clay                                                                        Hannah Wood

No comments:

Post a Comment